Ron Ferris wins at SCCA Convention

January 31, 2010

NOTE***  Our own Ron Ferris – Program Manager of the 2010 St. Louis Region Road Rally Program won the highest award in SCCA for Road Rally.

SCCA Convention Closes With Top Awards, Hall of Fame Inductions

LAS VEGAS Sports Car Club of America concluded its 2010 National Convention Presented by Gumout at the South Point Hotel and Casino with the annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Awards Banquet Presented by Honda., Nev. (Jan. 31, 2010) –

Five members were inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame, including former president Nick Craw, road racing legend Briggs Cunningham, longtime leader R. David Jones, former staff member and FIA steward Burdette “Berdie” Martin and rally pioneer Wayne Zitkus.

Additionally, the top awards for 2009 were presented, including:

Woolf Barnato Award (longtime organization contributions): Andy Porterfield

Member of Excellence (Club-wide contributions for 2009): Dave Deborde

Presidents Cup (Top Club Racing Runoffs Performance): Sam Halkias

John McGill Award (Top Club Racing Contribution): Fred Cummings

Solo Cup (Top Solo Contribution): Sandi Brown

Robert Ridges Award (Top RoadRally Contribution): Ron Ferris

The Saturday evening function capped three days of seminars and celebrations for SCCA. For the first time, the event included a series of seminars specifically for drivers and crew, including sessions on car construction, testing, shock absorbers, engines and fuel system additives. Speakers included famed SCCA members Joe Huffaker Jr. and Dan Binks.

SCCA President and CEO Jeff Dahnert closed the event, declaring it a success to the 455 attendees.

For more information about SCCA, please visit

Comments are closed.