2017 Banquet and Annual Awards – Nominations Needed

October 13, 2017

Wild CountrySt. Louis Region’s Annual Awards party will be Sunday, January 7, at Wild Country in Collinsville, IL.  Doors will open at noon, lunch will be served at 1 p.m., and we will present the awards afterward.  If you plan on joining us for the meal, the cost is $20 per person (member or non-member).  If you prefer to join us for just the awards, the event is free.  If you have any questions about the party, contact Charlene Lain.

St. Louis Region will present awards in Club Racing, PDX, RallyCross, RoadRally and Solo.  Each member should consider submitting nominations for our annual awards.  Please submit your nomination(s) by November 20, 2017 (at our annual meeting and elections). Email your nominations (please include the nominee’s name, the award they are being nominated for, the program it applies to and a couple of paragraphs about why they are deserving) to Awards Chair Eileen Waters.  To see a list of the previous award winners visit our website and click on the Documents and Forms tab and then scroll down to StL SCCA Annual Awards 2002 forward 2016 update.  Nominations are being accepted for the following awards:

Rookie-of-the-Year: (Presented in Club Racing, Rally Cross, Road Rally, and Solo)

The recipient should be a St. Louis Region driver who has demonstrated the greatest driving skill in his/her first year of competition.

Most Improved Driver of the Year: (Presented in Club Racing, PDX, Rally Cross, Road Rally, and Solo)

The St. Louis Region driver whose driving ability improved the most during the 2017 season.  The selection should be based on driver performance, not equipment performance.

Driver of the Year:  (Presented in Club Racing, Rally Cross, Road Rally, and Solo)

The recipient should be a St. Louis Region driver that exemplifies the characteristics of driving ability, competitive spirit, modesty, courtesy and sportsmanship.

The following awards are not program-specific and may be presented to anyone.

Instructor of the Year: 

This award is presented to the most outstanding instructor.

St. Louis Region Mechanic of the Year:

The recipient should be St. Louis Region’s most outstanding mechanic.  The general characteristics to be considered are mechanical excellence, reliability, competitiveness, success, enthusiasm, resourcefulness and initiative.

SPS Community Service Award:

This award, sponsored by Solo Performance Specialties, is presented to a member for outstanding community service.

St. Louis Region Worker of the Year:

The recipient should be a St. Louis Region worker who has contributed the most outstanding efforts in support of events throughout the season.

St. Louis Region Event of the Year:

Awarded to the most outstanding event of the year.

Spirit of St. Louis Region Award:

Presented to the region member whose direct contribution and service to our club has resulted in an outstanding achievement that has measurably improved and benefited the entire region.

We will also be presenting the following award, which is not eligible for nominations:

R.E. Award:

This award’s recipient is selected by 2017 R.E. Peter Zekert.

Comments are closed.