St. Louis Region Wins Big at National Convention!

February 13, 2011

Hi all,

I’m just back from the National Convention and wanted to give you a couple of quick updates. Look for more updates on the convention (and much more) in the February edition of Wheelspin.

St. Louis Region was very well represented! Besides myself, region members Chris Albin, Carol Cohn, Chuck DeProw, Ted and Nancy Haines , Jose Hernandez, Jan Rick, Carla Russo, Dave and Beth Whitworth and Lynn Wilson were all in attendance.

I am very pleased to report that the region won a couple of big awards! St. Louis received the Tom Burke award for region growth among large regions, for our exceptional 8% growth. We also received another Regional Achievement Award to add to our trophy shelf, awarded in recognition of our outstanding growth, member retention and leadership in customer service.

A highlight of the event was St. Louis Region member Carla Russo’s presentation on the importance of great customer service in all we do, entitled “What’s your pickle”. (If you don’t know about the pickle, google customer service guru Bob Farrell.) Many of you know that Carla has brought her genuine commitment to customer service to her work with our local Solo and PDX programs and you’ve seen it pay dividends. What you may not know is that Carla has also put in a great deal of effort helping the SCCA national office to spread this vision nationwide.

There were a lot of pickle jokes going around, and plastic pickles everywhere at the convention. In keeping with the spirit of a serious message with a lighthearted presentation, Carla, Jose, Lynn, Chuck and Jan all received “Pickle Awards” from the national staff to thank them for their help and commitment to this important effort. Their hard work was instrumental in our receiving the region achievement award this year so be sure to thank them!

I hope to see you all at the social on Monday the 21st at Spazio’s, I’ll show off the region awards, present the 2011 budget, and report on some exciting new developments for the region at the (as always optional) membership meeting which runs from 7:00-8:00.


Comments are closed.