48th SCCA Runoffs

September 19, 2011

48th SCCA National Championship Runoffs
Road America
Elkhart Lake, Wis.

Eric Prill, SCCA VP Marketing & Communications, (785) 250-7920, eprill@scca.com
Reece White, SCCA PR Manager, (785) 608-9522, rwhite@scca.com

SCCA National Championship Runoffs® Presented by Subway
Road America
14-turn, 4-mile permanent road course

Qualifying: 28 classes, Monday, September 19 – Thursday, September 22

Races: Friday, September 23 through Sunday, September 25

A complete schedule and entry list is available at www.scca.com/runoffs.

Race Lengths: 13 laps, 52 miles

Broadcast: All 28 races will be broadcast live on www.speedcasttv.com throughout the weekend.

Media Notes: Results are available on the AP SportsWire, via e-mail and on the Internet (www.scca.com).

Timing/Scoring: Live Timing & Scoring and lap notes via the SCCA® Pit Board are available for all sessions through www.scca.com.

Crowning The Nation’s Best Since 1964
The country’s best amateur road racers have been gathering each fall for 48 years at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs®. In 2011, more than 530 drivers in 28 classes are competing for the title of National Champion.

Ordinary People, Extraordinary Feats
The racers at this week’s SCCA National Championship Runoffs are a unique mix of talented drivers. Most are “weekend warriors,” mixing it up on the track on the weekends before heading home to their day-to-day jobs through the week. Some are youngsters with an eye on a professional driving career, honing their craft while looking to the future. The common theme to an SCCA competition is that these are seemingly ordinary people doing extraordinary things with racecars.

How prolific can these drivers become? Start with the motorsports legends – Bobby Rahal, Mark Donohue, Roger Penske, Michael Andretti, and actor/driver Paul Newman got their start in SCCA Club Racing. More recently, you could have seen current stars Boris Said, Graham Rahal, Sam Hornish or Scott Sharp at a Club race.

Third Time Is A Charm
The SCCA Runoffs return to Road America for the third consecutive year after its inaugural appearance in 2009. Road America is just the sixth track to host the National Championship event, following Riverside International Raceway (1964, 1966, & 1968), the road course at Daytona International Speedway (1965, 1967 & 1969), Road Atlanta (1970-1993), Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (1994-2005), and Heartland Park Topeka (2006-2008).

Badger Battles
Among the drivers entered at the National Championship Runoffs are 48 drivers who call Wisconsin home. A number of those are National Champions, including Niki Coello (East Troy, Wis.), a four-time champion in Formula Continental; Cliff Ebben (Appleton, Wis.), a two-time champion in GT-1; Steve Forrer (Milwaukee), who won two titles in Formula Atlantic and is the defending C Sports Racing Champion; Brian French (Sheboygan), who also holds a Formula Atlantic crown and will try to top Forrer this year in CSR; Lawrence Loshak (Milwaukee), a former E Production champion competing in D Sports Racing; Harry Manning (Racine), who is a Showroom Stock B winner now racing in Spec Miata; Scott Rubenzer (Brookfield), who won a Formula Vee title in 1985 and Formula F again in 2009; and Michael Varacins (Burlington), the Formula Vee National Champion from 2009.

Looking For Close Racing?
It’s been proven over and over for 48 years, but there’s no race weekend better than the National Championship Runoffs for close action and dramatic moments. Last season, the Formula Vee race finished with the top five drivers separated by only 0.788-second, with Rick Shields 0.017-second ahead of Roger Siebenaler for the win. In Formula Atlantic, David Wilcox topped Keith Grant by 0.051-second to take the title. Expect more of the same this year.

Producing Big Fields
E Production has 37 drivers on the entry list, making it the largest field of the 28 classes this season. SportsCar Magazine has predicted Greg Ira to top the class in a Datsun 240Z, but has also mentioneded Aaron Downey, and former National Champions Justin Pritchard, Jon Brakke, and Jesse Prather as contenders.

Comments are closed.